Ranking every manager of Leicester City’s King Power era

Leicester City fans display a banner depicting Claudio Ranieri (Photo by Matthew Ashton - AMA/Getty Images)
Leicester City fans display a banner depicting Claudio Ranieri (Photo by Matthew Ashton - AMA/Getty Images) /
2 of 5
Leicester City
Leicester City’s English manager Craig Shakespeare (PAUL ELLIS/AFP via Getty Images) /

5) Craig Shakespeare
P-26 W-11 D-6 L-9 Win %-42.31

Shakespeare took over as caretaker manager when Ranieri was sacked on 23 February 2017. Soon enough, by 12 March, his record earned him a promotion as he became the permanent manager of the outfit. In his brief spell, Shakespeare became the first Premier League manager ever to achieve three goals per game in his first three matches in charge.

Then on 1 April, he became the only English manager to win his first four league matches. On 8 June, Shakespeare signed a 3-year deal to be the permanent manager for Leicester City, but on 17 October 2017, he was gone after poor performances left the club in the bottom three of the Premier League.

4) Sven-Göran Eriksson
P-55 W-24 D-14 L-17 Win %-43.64

When the King Power group, led by Thai businessman Vichai and his son Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha, decided to purchase the club from Milan Mandarić, the Foxes sat in the relegation zone of the Championship. The first manager that the new ownership pursued looked like an overambitious one. Sven-Göran Eriksson, the former manager of the English national team, took over to aspire for a promotion.

The King Power side soon made improvements under the Swede, and the outfit gradually began to climb the table. Consistency was a reoccurring issue under Eriksson, as the Foxes came short when they were near the play-off spots. The manager spent big in a bid for promotion in 2011 but left the club by mutual consent after 13 league matches.

During Eriksson’s time, he purchased several key players like Kasper Schmeichel, David Nugent, and Paul Konchesky. These players later became a part of the Leicester team that won the 2013–14 Championship and survived relegation from the 2014–15 Premier League under Nigel Pearson.